Lionel Andrés "Leo" Messi is an Argentine footballer who plays as a forward for La Liga club FC Barcelona and the Argentina national team. He serves as the captain of his country's national football team.

FIFA 2012 annual awards ceremony held in Zurich on Monday. Messi polled 41.60 per cent of the votes and wined the Fifa Ballon d'Or, with Cristiano Ronaldo taking 23.68 per cent and Andrés Iniesta 10.91 per cent.

He was part of a three-man shortlist for the prize, which is voted for by journalists, and national coaches and captains, alongside midfielder Iniesta and forward Ronaldo.He becomes the first player to win four consecutive Ballons d'Or, breaking the record he jointly held with former France international, and current Uefa president, Michel Platini.

Read more